recipe: black forest delight

Second time I’ve made this… this time it was for my mom’s birthday.
It is SO good, so I thought I’d share the recipe.
I think it came from the Kraft magazine – it’s been in my recipe book for so long, I’ve forgotten.

Enjoy!

Black Forest Delight
1 pkg. devil’s food cake mix (I’ve used milk chocolate or triple chocolate too)
1 1/4 cups water, divided
1 pkg. (4-serving size) Cherry Jello
2/3 cup Sour Cream
2/3 cup powdered sugar
1 tub (8oz.) Cool Whip, thawed
1/3 cup drained maraschino cherries, divided
1 square baking chocolate, melted (I used chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 350.  Prepare and bake cake as directed on package in 2 greased and floured 9 inch round cake pans. (I wonder if wax paper in the bottom would have helped…)  Loosen layers from sides of pan with knife or metal spatula. Cool 15 min.  Boil 1 cup of the water; stir in dry gelatin mix until dissolved.  Add remaining 1/4 cup of water. Pierce cake layers with fork and carefully pour half of gelatin mix over each cake. Refrigerate at least 3 hours.

Mix sour cream and powdered sugar; gently stir in whipped topping.  Dip 1 cake pan in warm water until the cake loosens and unmold it onto a serving plate.  Spread with 1 cup of the topping mixture.  Reserve a few cherries for garnish on the top.  Chop the remaining cherries and sprinkle over first cake.  Unmold second cake, stack on top.  Frost top and sides.  Drizzle with melted chocolate; garnish with reserved cherries. (For drizzle, I melted the chips in a bowl in the microwave, then put in a plastic baggie, cut the corner off and drizzled it on top.)

This recipe looks really complicated, but after doing it twice, I think I could do it without the recipe.  It gets easier each time… just an excuse to make it more than once!

Leave a Reply

