messiah

Last Monday night we got to go see a performance of Handel’s Messiah at the Bass Hall in Fort Worth.  Then Wednesday night, we had the privilege of seeing Andrew Peterson & friends at the Behold the Lamb of God concert.  I can’t recommend either of these highly enough.  My husband grew up in a home full of music and choir (thanks, Mom Lantz) so Messiah has been one of his favorites for a long time.  I attribute my knowledge of it to him – how he plays it on his iPhone on Sunday mornings as we get ready for church.  I’m glad our kids will now grow up in a home full of music as well.

I was struck by something, sitting at the Bass Hall, listening to the choir sing this passage from Isaiah…

Isaiah 9:6
For to us a child is born,
to us a son is given,
and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

I think I’ve heard this hundreds of times.
In reading, it being quoted, in song, in sermon references during the Christmas season.

I like it.  Always have.
But I feel like I’ve been missing something.

You see, it says a child is born to us.  A son is given.
Then it says He will be called God and Everlasting Father.
AND, Wonderful Counselor.

I totally missed this picture of the Trinity all these years.
It’s all wrapped up in that one little verse.
The Son, the Spirit (Counselor) and the Father.

When Jesus says “I and the Father are one,” in John 10, He means it.

How else could a child, a son, a little baby born in a manger be referred to as the Everlasting Father?

Merry Christmas!

Had you ever noticed this?   Just a little dose of theology, from someone still learning the basics after 20+ years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

