merry marriage and a happy new year

10 years ago on New Year’s Eve, I was celebrating with my friends and family because my (now) hubby had just proposed and we were newly engaged and totally giddy.

This year, at 11:47pm on New Year’s Eve, we were at my parents’ for the holidays, and taking care of our 3 1/2 year old who had just started throwing up 30 minutes earlier.  (Side note: we’ve done well if she’s 3 1/2 and this is the first throw-up episode!)

We finally got her cleaned up and settled on a little bed on the floor in our room.  We climbed back into bed and all was quiet for a little while.  Then my husband whispered, “Gosh, I love you.”
*tears*
I said, “I love you too.  I was just thinking about what we were doing 10 years ago today.”… “Yeah.”

I couldn’t be luckier to have a man like him by my side… when kids are throwing up, and everything else that has come our way the last 10 years.

I kept thinking, if he hadn’t asked me to marry him 10 years ago, I wouldn’t be here right now… at my parents’ house for the holidays, with my 3 1/2 year old sleeping on the floor because she’s sick, trying to get some much needed sleep because the baby doesn’t sleep through the night either, tired from 8 days of traveling, wanting to be home but knowing that home means getting back into routine where I have to be “responsible,” and downright grumpy that my nice sleep was being interrupted, and at the same time heartbroken that our little girl was sick.

And you know what?

It is all worth it.
I wouldn’t trade a single sick night for anything.
I’m so glad that he asked me to be his wife 10 years ago.
I’m glad I said yes.
I’m glad we’re still in it together 10 years later.
I’m glad that we’re still learning and growing.

I’m not just glad that I’m married,
but that I’m married to him.

I love you, babe!

 

One thought on “merry marriage and a happy new year

  1. I love this post because I’m exactly 10 years behind you :). I hope that in (less than) 10 years we can have little kiddos as cute as ya’lls running around late at night. We already look up to ya’lls marriage more than you know. Thankful God ordained you two to be one!

Leave a Reply

