craft: palette wood garden

It’s Spring! (finally)

Spring makes me want to be outside, and garden… and do crafts!  There’s just something about warmer weather that makes me happy and motivated and inspired to do “stuff.”

I had some extra palette wood from a project at our daughter’s school.  I had taken a full palette and just cut it in half with a circular saw, so I had a piece left, and was wondering what to do with it.

Here’s what the leftover piece turned into: (Thanks, Matt, for not complaining too much about the pieces of unfinished craft that I have lying around the house everywhere.  🙂

palettewoodgarden1

Plants, $4 at Walmart.  Buckets, $1 a piece in the Target Dollar Aisle.  (love that place)  We have a huge yard to plant in, but with a new baby on the way, I figured I wouldn’t want the upkeep of the full garden this year, so I just settled for basil and some begonias.

My other idea was to use the palette as a towel or blanket hanger, which I still think would be great in a living room, playroom or bathroom. Maybe I’ll do that with the other palette.  Stay tuned for that final product.

palettewoodhanger

I love making stuff.  🙂
Like my mom says, “It’s cheaper than therapy.”

Leave a Reply

